If you're wondering why, it's because Fairfax County just announced its new $350 "No Plate Tax" and penalty.
What is the No Plate Tax and penalty? It says, anyone who purchases a new vehicle or brings a vehicle they own in from outside Virginia and does not register the vehicle and properly attach and display a Virginia license plate on it within 30 days, runs the risk of being slapped with this new tax and penalty.
It was all decided during the Tuesday night, Sept. 10 meeting of the County Board of Supervisors.
"This applies to vehicles that are normally garaged or parked in Fairfax County and are subject to Virginia’s vehicle licensing laws," the Supervisors explained in a statement this week. "The 'No Plate Tax' and penalty is a local charge authorized by state law."
For questions about the No Plate Tax, click here, or you can contact the county by e-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org, or by calling the Fairfax County Department of Tax Administration at 703-222-8234 (TTY 711).
For more information on Virginia vehicle licensing requirements, visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Click here for more Fairfax County tax information.
Servicemembers and active duty personnel may be eligible for exemptions to certain taxes. Click here for information.
FOLLOW HERNDON PATCH FOR THE LATEST NEWS AND EVENTS!Facebook | Twitter | Daily & Breaking News E-mail Updates